Utah Health Insurance
Utah has fewer health insurance regulations than most states. Still, it's important to familiarize yourself with them, so you're more knowledgeable and confident in your purchase.
Describes important Utah health insurance policy regulations
Lists rules Utah health insurance companies must follow
Health insurance policies are regulated by each state's own health insurance laws. Utah health insurance companies and policyholders alike must abide by established insurance laws.
Compare health plans and get instant quotes:
The search for the best coverage at the lowest price starts with comparing as many plans as possible from providers in your area.
To choose among the hundreds of plans available to you, use our fast and free comparison service to get quotes from major insurers in your state:
Do You Qualify For A Subsidy?
Find out if you qualify for a government subsidy under Obamacare. Millions of Americans will have their insurance rates reduced under the new health care law. Learn how much you could save with our simple calculator.
Utah health insurance policy provisions
Some of the most important Utah health insurance laws are the ones that influence the health insurance policy specifically.
For instance a basic policy provision common to all Utah health insurance policies states that your health insurance policy is guaranteed renewable as long as you have not provided any false information on your application and have paid your premiums on time.
Medical conditions that you have been diagnosed with 6 months before the effective date of your health insurance policy are considered to be "pre-existing conditions. In Utah, insurance companies can exclude pre-existing conditions from coverage, but not for more than 12 months.
If you are switching health insurance and have had continuous coverage, your old policy's exclusion period credits your new policy's required exclusion period. This is an important reason to ensure you never have any lapses in coverage. Even one day's lapse in health coverage will allow health insurance companies to require you wait up to 12 months for health coverage to pay for medical treatment you have been under doctor's orders to receive.
In Utah, however, insurance companies can get by these laws by attaching what's known as an elimination rider to the policy. Such riders make it possible for the insurance company to refuse coverage for a specific pre-existing condition permanently.
Newborns and adopted children are automatically included under a parent's individual insurance policy for 31 days as long as the policy already provides coverage for dependents. Handicapped dependents can still be covered under a parent's individual health plan, even if they are over the age limit for coverage.
Regulating Utah health insurance companies
Utah health insurance companies can be either licensed in the state of Utah or not. If they are licensed, you know, as a consumer that the company has passed the Utah health insurance regulations, something you are going to want to ask when you research your health insurance providers.
Although being licensed is a good quality indicator of Utah health insurance companies, you should still be aware of the few basic Utah health insurance company regulations. For one, Utah health insurance companies must make three standardized plans with varying levels of deductibles available to you if they offer you insurance.
However, any Utah health insurance company is free to refuse you coverage when you first apply. When making this decision and when determing how much your policy will cost, Utah health insurance companies can base their decisions on your health status.
Furthermore, your health insurance premiums can significantly increase because of age or declining health. But, there are limits to what you can be charged due to health status, age, and other factors.
Finally, although your health insurance policy can be canceled for certain reasons, Utah health insurance laws prohibit health insurance companies from terminating your policy on the grounds of illness.
Temporary Utah helath insurance
If you are seeking temporary Utah health insurance, conversion policies are a good choice.
You are entitled to receive coverage under these plans if you are leaving a fully insured group health insurance policy. There are limits to how much your premiums can be raised be due to health status and other factors. You should know that your premiums under a temporary health insurance policy in Utah will most likely be higher than the premiums of your former Utah health insurance policy.
Your former Utah health insurance company is required to offer you the three standardized policies with varying degrees of coverage.
Under these plans, no new pre-existing condition exclusion period can be imposed.
If you are not eligible for a conversion plan, but need some temporary coverage, some Utah health insurance companies offer short-term health insurance policies.
More UT health insurance help
If you want more help getting a good health insurance policy, take our free health insurance internet course.
Also see the guide to Utah small business health insurance.
To find out more about UT health insurance laws and regulations, visit the official website of the Utah Insurance Department.